Who is covered by Kentucky’s pension system?

Firefighter police officer judge construction worker and businesswoman

The Commonwealth of Kentucky operates two main defined benefit pension systems that provide retirement benefits to public employees.

  1. The Kentucky Retirement System (KRS) includes five different funds:
  • Two funds within the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, covering state government employees who work in hazardous and non-hazardous occupations
  • Two funds within the County Employees Retirement System, covering city and county government employees who work in hazardous & non-hazardous occupations
  • The State Police Retirement System, covering state troopers

2.  The Kentucky Teachers’ Retirement System covers teachers and some university and community college employees.